In 1883 the Luton School Board (created in 1874) opened three schools in Hitchin Road, one each for junior boys, junior girls and infants.
Following the Education Act of 1944 the schools were classified as County Primary Junior School and County Primary Infants School, Bedfordshire County Council taking over the running of all schools in Luton but acting through Luton Borough Council as a Divisional Executive. Both schools were closed in 1967, pupils going to St.Matthew's Junior School and St.Matthew's Infants School.
Downloadable from this page are copies of the school logbooks for Hitchin Road Boys and Girls Schools. This gives a unique picture of the impact war was having on the lives of children and teachers in Luton.
The 1914-195 Girls school logbook contains an interesting Scheme of Work dated 1914.